Science Program

With the IPA Symposium, WIPAC revives the historic Telemark meetings on neutrino physics. The topics include neutrino astronomy and related multiwavelength messengers (cosmic rays, high-energy gamma rays, gravitational waves), neutrino properties (including accelerator-based experiments), and related cosmological and dark matter aspects of particle astrophysics. The format will follow that of the Madison Pheno meetings with morning plenary talks and afternoon parallel sessions.
Confirmed plenary session talks include:
  • Trevor Weekes, Overview and History of TeV Gamma-Ray Astronomy
  • Giorgio Gratta, Overview of Double Beta-Decay Experiments
  • Yvonne Wong, Cosmology and Neutrino Mass Constraints
  • Jordon Goodman, Results from Milagro and Status of HAWC
  • Nathan Whitehorn, Results from IceCube
  • Jenny Thomas, Overview of Accelerator Neutrino Experiments
  • Keith Bechtol, Results from Fermi
  • Günter Sigl, Origin and Acceleration of Cosmic Rays
  • Paul Sommers, Ultrahigh-Energy Cosmic Rays
  • Sarah Church, The Planck Mission
  • Brian Humensky, CTA and the Future of High Energy Gamma-Ray Astronomy
  • Stefan Schoenert, Overview of Solar Neutrinos
  • Tao Han, University of Pittsburgh
  • Antonio Jesus Melgarejo Fernandez, Columbia University
  • Lauren Hsu, Fermilab Center for Particle Astrophysics
Parallel sessions and conveners:
Neutrino Theory
        Dan Hooper, Fermi National Laboratory
High-Energy Gamma Ray Astrophysics
        John Pretz, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Cosmic Rays (Theory/Experiment)
        Doug Bergman, University of Utah
        Dark Matter (Theory/Experiment)
        Carsten Rott, Center for Cosmology and AstroParticle Physics at Ohio State University
Neutrino Astrophysics
        Markus Ahlers, Wisconsin IceCube Particle Astrophysics Center and University of Wisconsin
Accelerator-Based Neutrino Physics
        Zelimir Djurcic, Argonne National Laboratory
        Teppei Katori, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Non-Accelerator-Based Neutrino Physics
        Lisa Kaufman, Indiana University
        Wei Wang, The College of William & Mary